Thursday, 20 September 2012

Tracey Trek...#4. Reflection & Video


My Back

Well I have to say I'm really chuffed. Although my back ached, I didn't develop any nasty side effects or drawbacks that were a threat.  Indeed I think it has actually helped loosen up some of the flexibility. Of course sat in a semi-pheotus position for hours on end is going to have some impact on how the back feels but certainly it wasn't prohibitive.


I've got some more appointments with the Chiropractor, so will be interested to hear her 

opinion at the assessment. At least she won't be telling me off for overdoing it. Well, what she doesn't know won't hurt, will it!


One thing I did feel the benefit from was the dreaded cold bath. I declined the option of sitting in a glacier type lake. I was too chicken for that, the bath was bad enough.  But you know what, it had a real soothing effect on my lower back and certainly it re-invigorated my legs for the following days cycling.

Try it. After the initial heart attack it's sadistically refreshing!

Video Footage


Well I couldn't finish this mini series without at least showing you some of what I've been rattling on about for the last few weeks.

I've put a video together of some of the riding we did.  If you want to skip to the descents then they start at about 32 mins and 1 hour.  You'll find it on this link:

Wednesday, 12 September 2012

Season 2012/13 - For Starters.

QPR 0-5 Swansea
Norwich 1-1 QPR
QPR 3-0 Walsall
Man City 3-1 QPR

Having an international break has at least allowed some time to reflect on the sudden rush of Premier League adrenaline.

Rangers start was, well how can I say, somewhat unexpected. The back end of last season the team showed how to create a disciplined defensive line and showed great promise.  The first result was a shock,  but you know, if it's going to happen then let it be early doors. In Hughes, we trust.

Twelve new players have joined the ranks, this Summer, creating more hysteria and optimism. Some of these yet to wear the sacred hoops.  Next up saw a battling draw at Norwich, a usual banana skin, and a subsequent rare cup win, albeit against Walsall, identified slow progress being made.

An away match against the current Premier League Champions was always going to be difficult and so it proved.  But even after this defeat, there were encouraging signs.. A superb debut form Granero, showing exactly what we needed, along with a reassuringly sound appearance by Ryan Nelson, lifting spirits.  Andy Johnson also showed exactly what and why he was brought in, proving to be quite a handful. More importantly, though, was the Premier League return of the Messiah; Ale Faurlin. Most welcome and severely missed.

And this, of course, leads me nicely on to the return of Rangers' 'friendly' and close neighbours, Chelsea. Our mates from down the road.

What will this game bring?

Well, we can be sure that it will be full of debate. The crowd will be seriously up for it and, make no bones about it, the Rangers support will be such that it will make it as intimidating as possible for  the Chelsearich boys.

Will Terry be playing? It looks doubtful, doesn't it, and actually I hope he does not, as it will just detract from what promises to be a hotly contested game of football, a game I hope that will be full of excitement, drama and hopefully a win for the Hoops. More of last years fixture will do nicely.

Bragging rights are so important but three points are even more so.

I personally can't wait for the match. The unknown of what team Mark Hughes will put out adds to the excitement. Where, once, there was limited choice, the squad now boasts a myriad of depth and talent. Hopefully, then, we will see the team putting down a marker, a marker to show that we are not just the Hoops from W12 but indeed The Superhoops who are now seriously challenging among the best the League has to offer.

Good luck and enjoy the game!

Prediction:  A tense but enjoyable 1-0 win to Rangers.

Sunday, 9 September 2012

Tracey Trek...#3


Day Three: Col du Glandon


Climb: 1,924m
Calories burnt: About 5,000
Top descent speed: 45.3mph
Distance: 30 miles
Average speed: 9.1mph

Yesterday was hard. Very, very hard. Today proved to be harder still.


From the get go we made our ascent. Five miles of constant, no let up, 5% climbing. 5mph gruelling pedalling in the mid day sunshine broken only by the odd shade from the trees.


Finally, we plateau in a village. It feels like we have cycled 100 miles. We haven't! A welcome water fountain. Cold, refreshing. The head goes straight under it to get an instant cool down. Need food already, some intake; just been told that we now have a serious "ball breaker" to do. A 6% long climb followed by a quick descent.  Oh great; a descent, that will undo all that hard work we have just done.  Undoing the hard work with lightening speed, dropping rapidly at 13%, we'll hit the bottom but then we'll need to get back to the same level but this time up a 13% climb.  And, not a short one either!


We set off, then. We climb. The legs are feeling it already. The mind is telling me to just give up. I can't, there is too far to go. The chest is hurting, it feels like my heart is the wrong side of my rib cage, I have to control my breathing and rhythm. We get to the peak, not THE peak, just this peak. Into top gear and the very steep, quick descent. You can sense the wheels and brakes heating up, the confidence you have in the brakes working efficiently are fading as much as they are. We hit the trough but boy there is no let up. Oh, man; the 13% straight back up again!


This is killing me. 3mph now, heels digging in and trying to pull up on the pedals as much as possible. I'm calling my colleagues all the names under the sun; they said today would be easier. Well, it's not. It's definitely not!


Flys. Where have these bloody flys come from? They are getting on my t*ts now, buzzing around my face. I can't breath. I can't let go of the handle bar to swish them away as I need to pull on the bars to help me up. I feel like a bullied cow on a Summers day. They are really hacking me off.


Finally I hit the top of this climb.  My legs are like jelly. I've probably lost 2 litres of fluid in just that ascent. I rehydrate as much as possible, forging on. The climb is less steep now but still it climbs. And still it climbs more.


A lovely short, shallow descent. The views open up. It looks are more akin to Exmoor. Open, green with the road sweeping through the valley. The descent is short lived, no surprise there!


The next climb begins.  This must be about 5%. Shallower, yes, but long. Oh it's long and with no rest bite at all until the summit. 


My stomach is grumbling with hunger. Two litres of fluid are now gone. I reach for an energy bar. I just cannot eat it as my breathing is now erratic. I can't chew and breathe at the same time but manage to pull myself to the cafe at the top, half the bar still in my hand.


From the cafe, there is just a steep, quick 100m climb to the summit. It's done. How? I have no idea because that was really tough. Really, really tough.


We collect our thoughts in the relative sanctuary of the cafe.


A bowl of pasta, a coffee and a full sugar Coke to ready me for the route back.  It will be easier now but the fear of that near climb and then that return sweeping, energy sapping,13% killer is something I am definitely not looking forward to. In fact I'm dreading it. But there is only one way home.


Off we set to enjoy the lovely, sweeping, downhill section.


Open views, so it's head down and just go for it. Enjoy every moment. This is pay back from that damn climb.. Head wind? I don't believe it there's a head wind.  Not a small one. No this is a 'the weather is changing' type of wind. Bugger!


The drop down, albeit with the wind smashing your face about, was so enjoyable. A freedom welcomed and embraced whole heartedly. But up we go again, steady as we go.  Slowly, slowly catchy monkey. Don't look up, just focus on the cadence and breathing, finally reaching the apex. Now for a much longer and much steeper descent. This will be the dip.  Must get the gears right here because as soon as you hit the bottom its straight back up again.


Downhill is astonishing. The road twists and it turns, the speed rockets. We hit the dip. Bang. Change down...chain comes off! Luckily no one is around to hear my expletives. I put the chain back on,  but how the hell do I get rolling again. I can't get going, it's too steep and I can't get clipped back in the pedal. Nightmare. Reluctantly, I start pushing but the walk is just as bad. My calves are pulling.


Three switch backs later and the road levels out enough to get back on. Off we go then. That's definitely the worse section.  Now for the fun to begin properly.


Whizzing down. Awesome. I feel rewarded for my efforts on that climb. The real prize is now. For miles it's down hill and only down hill. I feel like a free spirit; gliding. Speeds are increasing more. The bends are more and more fun. I catch up with the others.


More down hill. More fun. It starts to level as we can see the reservoir. The finishing point. So picturesque. I suddenly feel an urge to do a Mark Cavendish. I go for the sprint to the finish.  Where on earth did this energy come from? We weren't 100m from the car park at all. No, we are half a mile away.  I blame the team orders! I blow out, I'm spent. I get passed.


There goes my green jersey then!  


I cruise back to the car.



What a ride.

Tuesday, 4 September 2012

Tracey Trek...#2

Day Two: Col de la Galibier

Climb: 2,642 metres
Distance: 60 miles return
Calories burnt: 5,127
Top descent speed: 38.2 mph
Average speed: 11.2 mph
Average gradient: 7%

 
We head off once again.  Thirty miles to the summit of Col de la Galibier. Thirty miles of constant climbing and the last five miles being steep.   A steepness that I was not anticipating to be so hard.

A bit of respite at about 12 miles gave a sweeping downhill section...only to go back up of course.  Some interesting tunnels,  with no lights which made things even more fun. 

Arrived at Col de la Tourette, after three hours of steady climbing.  This is 80% towards Galibier. A nice pace, to here, but hard work nonetheless.  At the top, the temperature is dropping like a stone.  On with the arm warmers and gilet.  A quick sugar rush of coke, and Lion bar, and off for The Killer, which is the last 5 miles. 

We set off for the grand finale. A shockingly steep ascent of 12%. Five miles all the way to the top. This ascent is hard, real hard.  No, actually, really really hard! There is no give, no let up at all. Heels down hard, concentrating on lifting the pedals as well as pushing down, not daring to look up. All I hear is Joe saying don't look up! So what do I do? I instantly look up. I'm confronted by more incline, more hell. Real hell.

Three miles from the summit and I hit the wall. Legs gone . Completely shot. Breathing all a cock, head playing tricks.  I just want a hole to crawl into, to hibernate, to avoid looking at another foot of tarmac.

We stop for a leg and back stretch. Some rest and some fluids.  Refreshed (?), we set off again targeting the mile markers,  counting down in 1/10 stages. Bite size pieces. Two miles to go, another quick stop, legs like jelly, in fact, I'm not sure they are actually attached to my torso anymore!  I decide to stretch my quads. Aargh! Severe cramp sets in to my left leg and I fall to the ground in agony. Nurse Andy quickly comes to the rescue and takes over, saving my leg and the day. A nice little break in the Alps. NOT!
 

So, off we head again. Another mile, then another stop. It's relentless. Bloody ridiculous. And again, for the last mile. This climb is not going to beat me. This mind over matter stuff is all good in theory. In practice, though I'm not so convinced.
No matter whether I'm standing on the pedals, sitting back, pulling on the bars or hallucinating its making no difference. I'm spent. Completely and utterly spent.  Andy's pushing me on like a Sargent Major: breathing, ten of these, ten of those. I want to club him. 

I'd read, before coming out, that exhaling expletives, when in pain, can dampen that pain by as much as 46%. I tried this theory, calling Andy everything under the sun. Even the photographer, towards the end, gets the wrong end of my tongue when he asks for a smile.  "You gotta be 'bleeping' joking pal" (sorry Mum!)

But you know, it's actually kind of working, I'm thinking. Only 200m to the summit. I can see the others. An old chap is walking up the slope. Where the hell did he come from I gasp.  I have no lung capacity left. I have no legs left. I have no head left. I've lost it.  I can see the end. But I just can't pedal any more

Suddenly, I get a sharp push in the back. "You're going to @#**ing do this, there's only 100 metres left."  was shouted at me. All the guys are encouraging me.  I can't get this far and fail.  I just can't but all I want to do is die. I am dying. I'm there.

I collapse. I'm spent. I can't talk. I can't stand. I can't function. Everything that I had left was put into that last leg. I'm starting to get emotional. I'm just thinking about the Tour guys who go storming up here. Whippets on wheels, how the hell do they do it? Respect, total utter respect. That has to be the hardest physical thing I have ever done.

We take photos for the scrap book,  but the chill is overwhelming. We head off back down to Col de la Tourette to warm up and refuel.

Time for a crepe, then, and a coffee to warm back up a bit.  Hands frozen by the draft.  Back and arms stiffened by both the elements and the concentration of the descent.

From there it was pretty much downhill all the way apart from one nasty, but manageable climb.  It's warmer now. Adrenaline rushing through the veins as we take on a six man peloton,  bombing back home.  Four bleeding hours of hell to get to the top. One hour to get to the bottom. 

What a contrast. 

What an experience!

Sunday, 2 September 2012

Tracey Trek...#1

Day One: Alpe D'Huez

Climb: 1,860 metres
Distance: 9 miles up
Average climb: 8%
Averge speed: 5mph

(N.B: Marco Pantani holds the record for the quickest ascent: 38 minutes)